Our History

History of UI Student Chapter of AAPG

University of Indonesia Student Chapter of AAPG was established in 2000 by Suzwamelly, the founder and the first president of UI student Chapter all at once. The story starts since she got student internship in Gulf Indonesia Company about seismic inversion and met Mr. Chuck Caughey, geoscientists of Gulf Indonesia and also as the Oversight Committee for Indonesia Student Chapter at that time. After Mr. Chuck Caughey retired, his position as Oversight Committee of Indonesia Student Chapter was replaced by Mr. Dharmawan Samsu.

Along her internship, Suzwamelly also met and had discussion with other internship students from Trisakti and ITB. At the moment, the students from ITB and Trisakti shared about AAPG Student Chapter on their university and the benefits of founding AAPG Student Chapter in our University. In general, by founding AAPG Student Chapter we can expand networking and get funding to hold many activities.

After heard about the benefits, she discussed to other students and lecturer in University of Indonesia to create Student Chapter of AAPG. Mr. Leo as our lecturer allowed and very encouraged us to create AAPG Student Chapter. Then, Mr. Chuck Caughey helped us to find companies that would be sponsor for paying the registration fee of AAPG student membership. At the time, we had 15 student members and hold many activities on the first period of UI Student Chapter of AAPG.

As time goes by, University of Indonesia Student Chapter has many student members. Today, we have more than 40 members registered as student member of AAPG and increasingly each year. Our commitment is to be active, creative, and professional student chapter. We hope that we can bring the students to explore the world with knowledge and leadership. In 2007, a period when Damianus Fritz as president of University of Indonesia Student Chapter of AAPG, University of Indonesia Student Chapter of AAPG was awarded Outstanding Student Chapter from American Association of Petroleum Geologists. It becomes our motivation to improve our quality day by day. And hopefully, someday we could reach that glory period again.

Mostly, Executive Committee of Student Chapter in Indonesia has period that starts from January until July, with regeneration phase in the end of the year. Different from another university Student Chapter, UISC AAPG Executive Committee period starts from June until July, with regeneration in the middle of the year. Even so, the Executive committee starts looking for their regeneration by the end of the year. Usually, we challenge the junior students to handle some UISC AAPG events, so we could see how they work with the others and also see how far their responsibilities are. By doing this, we could also train their leadership, so we could not only found the natural leader, but also create the new leader. It always could be our consideration in regeneration.

So far, we have 8 period of Executive Committee, they are:

1. Suzwamelly (2000 – 2002)

2. Mupid Azizi (2002 – 2004)

3. Abdullah Nurhasan (2005 – 2006)

4. Damianus Fritz (2006 – 2007)

5. Gustriansyah Mishar (2007 – 2008)

6. Bayu Seno (2008 – 2009)

7. Andrew Jo (2009 – 2010)

8. Rino Isma A.S (2010 – 2011)

9. Fahmi Andrian Prabowo (2011-2012)

10. Ramsyi Faiz Afdhal (2012-2013)

11. Harry Tejakusuma (2013-2014)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s